CUMBRIA – Doris and Her First Bike

Cumbria Inspires

rachel fenwick

As I mentioned in the previous post, the images shown above have been playing in my mind for a really long time now. Before making the piece for Greystoke I asked my grandma to see if she could find any photographs of my great grandma living in Cumbria. The photographs where so beautiful, and they were such a great source of inspiration for the piece. The one that really stuck out for me was this one above. My great grandma stood proud with her bike. With written detail on the back- Doris Watson (her maiden name) her first Bike. Bought by uncle Tommy Berrier £5. She looks about a similar age to me now. I felt a real connection with the photograph as I’ve recently gotten into cycling myself and bought my own first proper bike- which I absolutely love. I felt it only right to have my own proud…

View original post 28 more words

Leave a Reply

