#couch2christmas – Teen Gates

Getting Into Gear for #Couch2Christmas

saveasSo I’ve been taking it easy this week as my back recovers from a nasty little strain.  I didn’t run, but I’ve been swimming, cycling, walking and going to the gym, so hopefully I haven’t lost any of my base fitness.

I was a bit tentative about cycling, but I’d invited Pedal the Planet – and World Cycle Race Winner, Breifne Earley to go for a spin in the Phoenix Park and I didn’t want to wimp out. As it turned out, he was a perfect gentleman and waited for me on all the hills! As we left my house and started for the park, a tiny boy came racing up beside us, passing us out on his scooter while shouting ‘I beat you Mr, I beat you’…  Bursting into giggles I looked sideways at Breifne and remarked ‘if you pay me, I’ll promise not to breiffneblog about this’.  ‘No worries’ Breifne replied ‘I play the long game, at some point he’s got to wait for his mummy….’ Later in the park a dog being walked ‘off his lead’ took chase and ran towards us, Breifne pulled up but I cycled straight at the deadly hound who stopped dead before running back to his embarrassed owner. We all cycled on unscathed. ‘New technique?’ commented Breifne, ‘No, I just forgot where the brakes were’ I replied. I had a bit of difficulty remembering how to use the gears as well! I suppose it’s been a while since I was on the bike.

TheDockSwimming was also approved by the physio so I continued with my swim classes with http://www.swimtutor.ie at DCU and my late night training sessions with the NAC Masters. I also went swimming in the sea at Kinsale, when a friend introduced me to The Dock Beach, and the nearby, legendary Sandycove swimming spot where I met swimming granddad Mike Harris, and got to see his unique ‘mobile warm water shower’.

My CrossFit Transformation Zone workouts continued with David Dunne at his Rosemount Gym, and I also paid a visit to his on-site L.E.A.F. Physical Therapy clinic for a check up, stretches and massage.  My strained back is continuing to improve and last night I went for my first run in over a week. I did 20 mins on the treadmill and kept it easy with no incline. It was a start and I had no ill affects, so I followed it up with a short 20 minute jog outdoors this morning.  Everything is going fine, and I’m planning to be back at parkrun on Saturday lulumorning to do my next 5k.

Best still, I had my 10-day weigh-in with my mate Vera http://www.veras5.com – and I’m happy to report I have lost an impressive 6lb, despite my small injury slowing me down, and a very busy week with lots of travelling, lots of eating out and lots of celebrations. I even took to the catwalk for a charity event in the Wright Venue and hit the VIP after-party for Cork City Ballet at the Cork Opera House, and despite wine, champagne and amazing canapés – I managed to keep my head, and my diet!

My challenge buddy, Elaine Crowley from TV3 is also back in full training after coming 2nd with her salsa in her STRICTLY Against Breast Cancer challenge last weekend. I believe we are both still on track for our #Couch2Christmas 10k run for Aware next month. We have a few weeks training left and we’re both confident we can do this. So join us, run with us, come out and cheer on the day, or Aware_Christmas-Run_Online-banner-2015-700x280Jjust spread the word. Aware’s Christmas Run, December 12th in Dublin’s lovely Phoenix Park.

Leave a Reply

