DIABETES – Two years

mum of type 1

Two years since I took my son to the doctor.

Two years since I saw the nurse and doctor exchange that look that told me everything.

Two years since I watched my brave boy do his first blood test.

Two years since he took the insulin pen, looked me in the eye and felt the needle pierce his skin.

Two years since we started to learn about carbs.

Two years since we slept regularly through the night.

Two years since we made last minute decisions to do things.

Two years since we met the educator who is our guardian angel.

In those two years:

An amazing young man has emerged.

He knows that you can’t always win but you can learn and move on.

He has grabbed life by the balls and twisted as hard as he can.

Type 1 diabetes does not define him.

View original post

Leave a Reply

